Happy To Be A Stay At Home Mom

Purpose of Mama Bear Matters

My good friend Claudia once told me, “You were a mother even before you had a son.” Those who know me well will agree that I was meant to be a mama bear. I have always had a strong inclination to nurture and protect those closest to me. So when my son was born, it was a natural decision for me to become a full time stay at home mom (SAHM).

I created Mama Bear Matters to connect with other stay at home mothers. If you are a meant-to-be and proud-to-be stay at home mother like me, I would love to get to know you and your journey. I want to learn about your experiences as they relate to my own, as well as to other stay at home moms.

Not Against Working Moms

Although this blog was designed to keep in mind other stay at home moms, it’s important to note that this blog is not a campaign against working moms. I’m not interested in trying to convert working mothers to become a SAHM. Instead, this community blog is my effort to reach out to other mothers who have already arrived at the decision to become a SAHM.

The decision on whether a mother should be a SAHM or a working mother is such a personal and private issue, and I understand its very sensitive nature. Such decisions should be reached based on each family’s priority and philosophy. Just like all parenting matters, I acknowledge that there is not a “one size fits all” approach to motherhood. Actually, my own mom decided to work outside the home and she was a happier and in turn, a better mother for it. I certainly appreciate working mothers as well.

Why I Chose to be a SAHM

Our family’s decision for me to become a stay at home mom came easily and felt very natural. Before I got pregnant with my son, I had a very ambitious career in law as a senior paralegal for several corporate law firms. I valued being a career-oriented woman and I thrived on working my way up the corporate ladder. However, after my son was born, I was inspired to stay home because I wanted to be my son’s primary and only caretaker. As much as I enjoyed the feeling of industry and accomplishment as a successful career woman, it was not as gratifying as taking care of my home and my son fully and exclusively.

I decided it was in the best interest of my family that I stayed home, not return to work, and instead put all my efforts into nurturing my home and family. My priorities as a woman shifted from ‘earning as much money as I can and becoming a paralegal superstar’ to ‘spending as much time with my son as I can and becoming a homemaker superstar’.  It took a lot (a lot) of adjustments and downsizing in order to make our household still survive on one income, but at the end of the day, I always feel that we made the right decision for our family.

Up and Down and Up

Although I’m so proud to be a SAHM, I must admit that life as a SAHM can sometimes be fraught with many hardships. Nonetheless, I’m happy because I’m serving my life purpose. My vocation as a SAHM is the most important job I will ever have. I feel very lucky that I’ve realized my own special place in the world, and I thank my son everyday for being my inspiration. Looking after my home and taking care of my family with my own hands completely gratifies me. I believe my decision to become a full time SAHM will provide my family with the most meaning in the long run.

Now, is being a SAHM always wonderful and warm and fuzzy for me? No. In fact, sometimes it’s difficult, very, very difficult.  So how can something so challenging still be so fulfilling? Well for me, it’s quite simple really. I don’t love being a SAHM because it’s easy. I love being a SAHM because taking care of my home and my family is my top priority. In fact, it is my pleasure. Even considering the hardships that go hand in hand with being a SAHM, I still boast the bigger joy that comes with looking after my home and taking care of my family.

"Mommy Panda and Her Cub" by Patrizia Donaera

Calling All Stay At Home Mamas!

If you share the same passion for being a SAHM, I would love to get to know your stories and perspectives. My Mama Bear Matters community blog is an accepting forum in which we can exchange our SAHM stories. Because you have such a unique point of view as a SAHM, I invite you to contribute your thoughts on a variety of topics such as:

  • Parenting
  • Relationships
  • Homemaking
  • Recipes
  • Product Reviews
  • Suggested Readings
  • Wellness for the Mind, Body and Spirit

I believe that by discussing different topics from our distinct point of views, together we can build a wonderful resource for one another.

Long Term Goal

Down the road, and I pray there will eventually be enough members in our Mama Bear Matters network, I want to pilot a Stay At Home Mama Bear Mentorship Program. By making connections within Mama Bear Matters, you can gain a personal mentor, to help support you through your experiences as a SAHM. Then, you can serve as a mentor yourself, and guide another SAHM through her journey. I think it will be rewarding for all of us to belong in a supportive SAHM network, as well as be a part of a one-on-one mentoring relationship.

Discussion

The following questions are for all of us to begin our discussions and connections as stay at home mothers. Please kindly review and reply with your comments. I would love to know your story.

  • How did you arrive at the decision to be a stay at home mom?
  • What are the most rewarding and also most difficult aspects of being a stay at home mom?

Please feel free to post your own set of questions that you would like other SAHMs to discuss.

Thank you for visiting Mama Bear Matters!

Share your story, your story matters.

Leave a comment: Share your story, your story matters.

